Southwest Mississippi Planning & Development District SWMPDD
The Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District (SWMPDD), headquartered in Natchez, Mississippi, is a private, non-profit organization created for the purpose of providing regional community and economic development services to a ten-county area that includes Adams
, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall and Wilkinson counties in Southwest Mississippi. The SWMPDD secures and administers grants and other funding for its member governments, provides direct assistance to individuals in areas such as financing for business start-up and expansion, and services to senior citizens.

The planning district provides the means of regional solutions to economic development through its technical and grants services capabilities; the delivery mechanism for the administration of a variety of socioeconomic services, such as the SWMPDD/Area Agency on Aging and the SWMPDD regional Workforce Investment Area (WIA) office; and the base for the advocacy of economic and social progress.

SWMPDD staff members participate in various community groups concerned with contemporary issues such as the development of tourism, solid waste management, and other regional issues.

100 South Wall Street, Natchez, MS 39120 • Phone (601) 446-6044 • Fax (601) 446-6071